Forums


Go Back   The TrekEarth Forums >

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-14-2009, 06:43 PM
fanni fanni is offline
TE Expert
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6,502
Default Re: Loosing quality of pictures when converting to JPEGs for

Hi Lamberto,
you are right :)) these are all very typical mistakes - in the ocean of others! But it seems to me this process can't stop...
best wishes,
elena
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-14-2009, 07:59 PM
dutchbaby dutchbaby is offline
TE Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: converting to JPEGs for TE

Thank you for your prompt reply.

I'm only running CS2 but the only like features I was able to find was
_filter/blur/Gaussian blur and brought it down to radius 1 pixel
but it didn't do anything.

It looks like the image started with has a resolution of only 72 pixels/inch; could that have been my problem?
I've been seriously contemplating an upgrade to CS4 anyway, maybe this will be my excuse.

If it's any help, here's the image I'm trying to upload http://www.flickr.com/photos/godutchbaby/3531591774/sizes/l/

Thank you for trying to help me, if I'm too "beginner" for this forum, I will gently bow out of this forum and stick with posting my images at Flickr.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-14-2009, 10:57 PM
feather's Avatar
feather feather is offline
TE Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Yorkshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,381
Default Re: converting to JPEGs for TE

The pixellation is more than likely because you have used too much compression when you saved. After clicking 'save' in CS2 a jpeg options box appears which gives you the option of different qualities on a slider. Just to the right of this the file size appears (in small numbers under the 'preview' box - make sure that is ticked) Adjust the slider so the file size is just below the 300kb allowance. You have to use trial & error as each image will have a different file size depending on the content of the image (eg a lot of leaves uses a lot of memory so the file size will be big) A good starting point will be about quality value 9. But first of all when you downsize to 800px the image loses sharpness. I think CS2 has smart sharpen?? If so set it to reduce lens blur and radius between 0.1 - 0.5, 100%. Again it's trial & error to get the sharpness right. Too much sharpness is as bad as not enough. You can also use Unsharp mask with the same radius and amount.
We were all beginners once so keep trying!
Good luck
Kath
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:39 AM.



Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.
explore TREKEARTH