Where is the meaningful criticism? - The TrekEarth Forums

Forums

Go Back   The TrekEarth Forums >

Notices

Old 11-01-2005, 01:05 AM
TE Newbie

Default Where is the meaningful criticism?

I'm new to Trekearth, having given up on PhotoSig with its draconian rules for uploading images.

Having spent some time looking at the critiques people are posting here on TE I'm left somewhat disappointed. There are simply too many pat on the back critiques like "great photo, I really like it". What's the value of this kind of "critique" to the photographer? It's just noise. I assume people post their work on TE not only to share it with others, but to also learn from others how to improve their skills. Isn't it frustrating then to have to weed out these pats on the back from feedback that actually has some meaningful criticism or ideas? I am amazed at how many people don't even mention what it is they like about the photos, let alone how the photo may be improved.

I would encourage users not to post these "great photo" critiques unless they can describe exactly what it is about the photo that appeals to them.
Old 11-01-2005, 01:16 AM
TE Expert

Default Re: Where is the meaningful criticism?

James this has been brought up many times, and I agree with most points you make, the thing is that with thousands of members you can't expect all to act the same way.
I agree that here we have way too much pats on the back and in many cases no matter how bad the image, it will receive glowing comments. My suggestion: ignore it, if you want to be a member of this site (happy member I should add), take it for what it is, partake as you wish, am I sure you will notice that among all those glowing reviews and pats on the back there are many meaningfull critiques, and you will also be able to identify the members who tend to issue them.

As for your statement that "people post not only to share...", well I don't know, I think some (many) just want to share.
Peter
Old 11-01-2005, 05:10 AM