Forums


Go Back   The TrekEarth Forums >

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-03-2009, 01:05 AM
mdrosenb mdrosenb is offline
TE Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Default Loosing quality of pictures when converting to JPEGs for TE

I'm new to TE and am unsatisfied with my few uploads. I know that the image must be a JPEG to upload, and that you lose quality converting it, but it seems like my pictures are loosing all of their color and contrast and etc. Everyone else seems to be uploading great looking JPEGS, is there something that I don't know? How can convert my pics from DNGs to JPEGS to post on TE w/o loosing so much quality?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-03-2009, 01:38 AM
SteveH SteveH is offline
TE Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 685
Default Loosing quality of pictures when converting to JPEGs for TE

Hi, you may find this thread useful. cheers, Steve

http://www.trekearth.com/read.php?f=1&t=730816&m=1006622&tt=flat
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-03-2009, 02:25 AM
mdrosenb mdrosenb is offline
TE Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Loosing quality of pictures when converting to JPEGs for

Thanks so much! Looks like this will do the trick, can't wait to try it out!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-03-2009, 03:33 AM
Bruno40 Bruno40 is offline
TE Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 909
Default Re: Loosing quality of pictures when converting to JPEGs for

nothing to do with the topic, but I am wondering why so many people, both native and non-native English speakers, make the same mistake:
loosing is not the same as losing.
Loosing is coming from the verb to loose (opposite of tight)
Losing is coming from the verb to lose (to lose photo quality)

Sorry Mark, I do not mean it personal, it is a very general mistake, and too common, that just makes me wonder....

cheers
Jorge
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-03-2009, 06:49 AM
fanni fanni is offline
TE Expert
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6,502
Default Re: Loosing quality of pictures when converting to JPEGs for

Hello Jorge,
as a linguist and a tutor of English with a 16 years' experience, I must say that I have to correct this mistake so often that I have almost stopped paying attention to it LOL
The explanation is simple: people write this word just as they hear it (so this is a phonetics aspect/reason) - "oo" is pronounced as [u] whereas "o" so often sounds like [o] or [ou] ( like in "lost", "cost", "post", "cold", etc) so it seems (although mistakenly) absolutely illogical to write "o" instead of the correct "oo" :)
Regards,
Elena
PS. sorry I can't insert the correct transcription symbols here, but I guess you see what I mean :)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-03-2009, 09:30 AM
michelloupis michelloupis is offline
TE Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 160
Default Loosing quality of pictures when converting to JPEGs for TE

Hello,

Were your pictures RAW? If they were, you have to change the color from Adobe RGB to sRGB before starting the RAW processing and converting them into JPG. If you do that, you wont loose any quality. In fact, the quality loss is actually not a quality loss, but a difference in color.


Bye

Nuno
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-07-2009, 06:39 AM
woozbman woozbman is offline
TE Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 101
Default Re: Loosing quality of pictures when converting to JPEGs for

Hi Elena,

So true. Also:
it's / its
they're / there / their
you're / your
then / than

Those are the ones that immediately came to mind.

But I'd have to admit that writing "it's" instead of "its" does have logic to it - i.e., adding apostrophe + s to make it possessive.

Regards,
Lamberto
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-07-2009, 08:02 AM
Bruno40 Bruno40 is offline
TE Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 909
Default Re: Loosing quality of pictures when converting to JPEGs for

I see also awful spelling mistakes in my own mother language as well.... what is going on with proper reading and spelling in schools around the world? .. even though its now even easier using MS Word.

Check a book called "Eats, shoots and leaves"
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-14-2009, 04:43 PM
dutchbaby dutchbaby is offline
TE Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Loosing quality of pictures when converting to JPEGs for

I'm having some quality problems too. I don't have a raw camera, my Sony DSC-H9 allows me to only shoot in JPEG. When I reduce my image size to within this site's size constraints, my image looks pixelated in PhotoShop. What am I doing wrong? I'm a new photographer and I'm eager to learn.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-14-2009, 05:41 PM
jlbrthnn jlbrthnn is offline
TE Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,336
Default Re: converting to JPEGs for TE

hello,
With photoshop CS3:
_sizing to 800x600 for instance.
_Filter/strength/optimized clearness,( base, gain:100%, radius 1 pixel, Remove: Gaussian blur)
_ edition/Extenuation, opacity 35 in manual mode.
Good evening
Cordially
Jol
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:24 PM.



Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.
explore TREKEARTH