Foto

Photographer's Note

he Church of the Life-Giving Trinity, located next to the Golden Gate, is the last cult building of the old provincial Vladimir. Locals call it the "Red Church". In the place where the red-brick Trinity Church now stands, from the beginning of the 17th century there was a wooden Kazan church that belonged to the settlement of coachmen (cabmen). After the fire of 1778, the Yamskaya Sloboda was moved outside the city, and frequent construction began here.
In 1912, an Old Believer community, consisting mainly of merchants, bought a plot of land near the Golden Gate, at the crossroads of Dvoryanskaya and Letneperevozinskaya streets. The influence of the Old Believer merchants was so great that they were allowed to build a new church in the city center. The construction of the church was timed for merchants to celebrate the 300th anniversary of the reign of the Romanov dynasty. Shortly before the revolution, in 1913 - 1916, designed by architect S.M. Zharova was erected a temple of red brick, acquired at the local factory Studzitsky. The life of the church was short-lived: in 1928 the services ceased, and the provincial archival bureau was located in the building. In the 1960s, the question arose about demolition, but thanks to the efforts of the public and the active participation of the writer V. A. Soloukhin, the temple was saved.

pajaran ha contrassegnato questa nota come utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 334
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by yuval naaman (kogawa) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 85 W: 103 N: 436] (4524)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH