Foto

Photographer's Note

Wat Thammikarat most likely pre-dates the founding of Ayutthaya by King U-Thong in 1351. It is historically connected to a Khmer settlement named Ayodaya that was
situated just east of the current city island. This pre-Ayutthaya history is backed up by northern Thai chronicles, which state that Phraya Thammikarat, who was son of King Sai Nam Phung, constructed this monastery in the 12th century.
A view of the full Wat can be found in the workshop.
Info from www.ayutthaya-history.com

snunney, jlbrthnn ha contrassegnato questa nota come utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 3150
Points: 18
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Chris Chafer (sandpiper) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 767 W: 87 N: 1198] (6788)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH