Foto

Photographer's Note

Sarajevo City Hall, known as Vijecnica is located in the city of Sarajevo. It was designed in 1891 by the Czech architect Karel Parik, but criticisms by the minister, Baron Benjamin Kallay, caused him to stop working on the project.

Alexander Wittek, who work on the project in 1892 and 1893, fell ill and died in 1894, and the work was completed by Ciril Ivekovic. The edifice was built in a stylistic blend of historical eclecticism, predominantly in the pseudo-Moorish expression, for which the stylistic sources were found in the Islamic art of Spain and North Africa.
Building works began in 1892 and were completed in 1894. It was formally open 20 April 1896, and handed over to the City Authority, which occupied the property until 1949, which it was handed over to the National and University Library of Bosnia and Hercegovina.
On 25 August 1992, Serbian shelling during the Serge of Sarajevo caused the complete destruction of the library, among the lost were about 700 manuscripts, incunabula and the unique collection of Bosnian serial publications, some from the middle of the 19th century Bosnian cultural revival. Before the attack, the library held 1,5 million volumes and over 155,000 rare books and manuscripts.

The structural repair of the building was planned to be carried out in four stages: 1996-1997 (financed by a donation from Republic of Austria), and 2000-2004 (financed by a donation from the European Commission), and the city of Barcelona among others. The third stage ended in September 2012, with estimated cost of 2.37 million euros and will return to city hall to its former grace. The fourth stage began following the completion of the third stage and lasted about 20 months, finishing at the end of 2013 and cost 7.23 million euros. In this stage the whole interior was built and reconstructed meaning the building is brought back to function. Everything that was possible to restore has been done so, while those things that were not possible to save have been made a new through special molds.
After it was repaired, the building, a national monument, will be used for variety of events.

ikeharel, pajaran, Fis2, papagolf21, adramad ha contrassegnato questa nota come utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 778
Points: 18
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Zbigniew Kalinowski (fotka) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 558 W: 9 N: 1487] (6687)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH