Foto

Photographer's Note

The church of San Juan, was built in 1234 as a chapel of the cloister of a Dominican monastery and was devastated during the struggles of the fifteenth century between the Livonian Order and the city.

The main door and the portico are the only original elements; the rest was reconstructed in Gothic style, including the red brick nave, an apse, the choir and a tower.

In 1582 the Polish king Stefan Bathory handed over the church to the Lutherans and it was extended in Mannerist style. It includes a Baroque altar from 1769 and in the sacristy the painting by Janis Rozentals, The Crucified of 1912.

----------------------------------------------------

La iglesia de San Juan, se construyó en 1234 como capilla del claustro de un monasterio dominico y quedó devastada durante las luchas del siglo XV entre la Orden Livonia y la ciudad.

La puerta principal y el pórtico son los únicos elementos originales; el resto se reconstruyó en estilo gótico, incluida la nave de ladrillo rojo, un ábside, el coro y una torre.

En 1582 el rey polaco Stefan Bathory entregó la iglesia a los luteranos y se amplió en estilo manierista. Incluye un altar barroco de 1769 y en la sacristía el cuadro de Janis Rozentals, El crucificado de 1912.

Photo Information
Viewed: 957
Points: 52
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Luis Garcia (adramad) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 7895 W: 5 N: 13918] (62016)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH