Foto

Photographer's Note

The side view of the front facade of Kurhaus Hotel at Scheveningen, The Hague.
The Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel, The Hague is a widely acclaimed five star hotel.
The Kurhaus was built between 1884 and 1885 by the German architects Johann Friedrich Henkenhaf and Friedrich Ebert. It consisted originally of a concert hall and a hotel with 120 rooms. Having suffered serious damage by fire, it was rebuilt between 1886 and 1887. The ceilings were painted by the Brussels artist Van Hoeck and his large workshop. Several kings and heads of state sojourned in the Kurhaus during its heyday. Until the 1960s, the Kurhaus remained an attraction to the public via the many performances by top artists. The last performance in the Kurhausazaal was by the Rolling Stones.
Fallen into disrepair and closed in 1969, the Kurhaus was saved from demolition in 1975 by being listed as a historic building. It is now completely renovated into the high-class Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel (the only hotel in the Netherlands of the German hotel chain Steigenberger Hotel Group) and casino. It was reopened in 1979 by Princess Beatrix.
Source Wikipedia.

A close view of the top portion in workshop.

danos, siolaw, pajaran, kato, Graal, jhm, asajernigan ha contrassegnato questa nota come utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 1762
Points: 28
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Ranjan Majumdar (rmajum) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 113 W: 22 N: 251] (1207)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH