Foto

Photographer's Note

One corner of the castle
The monumental edifice that used to be a residence of the German emperor was built in the years 1904-1910 according to a design by Franz Schwechten, who apparently took on board many suggestions from Kaiser Wilhelm II himself. The castle was a pivotal element of "the castle district" projected as a visiting card of the city and testifying to its supposedly German origins.
In the years between the wars the castle was a residence of the Polish President and a part of it was used by the Poznań University. During the German occupation the edifice was rebuilt as a Hitler's official residence; it was then that the showy entrance from Święty Marcin Street was added. Also the tower chapel was closed and a small balcony built on the south wall.

JanH, westcoastgirl1, Tukan-T5 ha contrassegnato questa nota come utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 876
Points: 18
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Slawomir Prabucki (prabut) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 210 W: 11 N: 183] (3548)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH