Foto

Photographer's Note

Situated in the town of Evora, the Palace of King Manuel is what remains of the large complex of palatial S. Francisco, just the gallery sixteenth century - the Palace of the Ladies of the sixteenth century and included in the cycle Manueline Mudejar, was saved from destruction, eventually being used as a warehouse in the struggles of the independence war (1640)
Assigned to the House in 1865, the Palace of King Manuel was used as an archaeological museum, theater and exhibition space, until the collapse of 18.02.1881 it destroyed the roof.
In March 1916, was destroyed by fire, and remained so until 1943, when it was recovered by the National Monuments, which restored the building and rescued the essential parts of the old flag
Today, it performs the function of "living room" of the city, where they have held official receptions and ceremonies of cultural exhibitions and other initiatives consistent with their dignity

Nobody ha contrassegnato questa nota come utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 3613
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Joao Correia (sogal) Silver Note Writer [C: 2 W: 0 N: 1006] (1688)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH