Foto

Photographer's Note

The fortress was built in the mid 12th century as Hungarian city, which was owned by despot George.

According to some authors, the city is slightly younger, built on 1332, on the orders of Ban Jovan Marotija. The fortress had two towers. The fortress was built of brick, the walls are pretty solid, with a thickness of about 2 meters.

So far on this fortress was no archaeological research. It is on the (possibly artificial) hill where Studva flows into the Bosut.

There is a legend about secret corridors under the tower, and even below the river Bosut.

WS: Bosut, a few kilometers downstream, near the village Vošnjićevo!

pajaran, jhm ha contrassegnato questa nota come utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 718
Points: 6
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Aleksandar Dekanski (dekanski) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 307 W: 125 N: 960] (6623)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH