Foto

Photographer's Note

"The origins of Bristol Cathedral lie in the abbey founded in 1140 by Robert FitzHarding, a wealthy merchant, Provost of Bristol and Lord of Berkeley. FitzHarding brought Augustinian monks, known as Black Canons, to serve God and the community at this spot across the river from the walled city. Their abbey church was dedicated to St Augustine the Great.

The Chapter House is Norman with fine arcading and dog-tooth mouldings, typical of the period. The Choir is mediaeval and features many interesting carvings on the wooden misericords, including the Romance of Reynard Fox.

In 1540, at the time of the Reformation, the Abbot was forced to surrender the abbey to the King. Bristol had been part of the diocese of Worcester up until this time, but two years later was made a city. So the abbey church became the Cathedral of the new see of Bristol, with the dedication changed to The Holy and Undivided Trinity."

source: http://www.about-bristol.co.uk/chu-01.asp

caliane, alexlie ha contrassegnato questa nota come utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 1876
Points: 9
Discussions
Additional Photos by Zbyszek Winkiewicz (Zbyszek) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 65 W: 9 N: 10] (251)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH