Foto

Photographer's Note

This church began to be built during the last part of 1734 with the Jesuit preacher and architect Andrés Blanqui. It still keeps the original colonial austere features in its interior but its façade changed when it was restored in 1918 by the architect Pelayo Sáinz, who gave a noticeable neo-colonial style to it. This church was built on behalf of Our Lady of Belen and it was annexed to a school and to a “Casa de Ejercicios Espirituales” (a place where spiritual activities were carried out) that belonged to the Jesuits. When the Jesuits were expelled in 1767, the Bethlem preachers were in charge of it and it was in 1813 when it transformed into the St. Peter González Telmo church.

No tripod used.

Nobody ha contrassegnato questa nota come utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 1046
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Andre Bonavita (bona) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1326 W: 110 N: 3075] (14369)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH