Foto

Photographer's Note

The Aqueduct of Free Waters, today disactivated, was ordered to construct for King D. João V, in order to supply to water the Lisbon, in accordance with projecto of Manuel of the Mayan, having supplied the city from 1748. With 14 km of extension since the main spring and diverse subsidiary aqueducts and of distribução, with a 58 total of km, supplied a net of chafarizes in the city. The Aqueduct possesss, in its more monumental part, a set of 35 arcs, authorship of Custódio Vieira, on the Valley of Alcântara, where if it detaches the biggest arc in rock of go of the world, with 65 m of height and 32 opening m. The waters arrived the Lisbon at the Reservoir of the Water Mother of the Amoreiras, constructed between 1746 and 1834, according to plans of Carlos Mardel, to who if must, among others workmanships, also the triunfal arc that celebrates the workmanship of D. João V. Integram currently the Museum of the Water of the EPAL.

Nobody ha contrassegnato questa nota come utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 4049
Points: 1
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Goncalo Lopes (Bluejeans) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 9250 W: 115 N: 13285] (64251)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH