Foto

Photographer's Note

The Chapel of the White Penitents in Eygalières was originally built in 1581 against the north-east wall of the village ramparts. The steeple was added later and bears an inscription dated 1743.

It served as a mass grave during the great plague of 1720. Penitents undertook to bury the victims inside the building: the bones are still visible in a corner of the nave. The Brotherhood was dissolved in 1881, the date from which the chapel is neglected. Used as a source of stone for new buildings, it was subsequently rescued by the Friends of Old Eygalières and was made into a local history museum.

(Source: E-patrimoine en Pays d’Arles - http://www.pays-arles.org/e-patrimoine/communes/eygalieres/article/chapelle-des-penitents-blancs-519)

SnapRJW, timecapturer, pierrefonds, williewhistler, Cricri, tedesse, fabbs99, ourania, amaryllis, Didi ha contrassegnato questa nota come utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 1010
Points: 40
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Stephen Nunney (snunney) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 10627 W: 63 N: 29874] (130967)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH