Foto

Photographer's Note

Georg Jakob Schneider built the "Colombischlößle" (Colombi Mansion) for the Countess Zea Bermudez y Colombi and her daughters between 1859 and 1861.
The house is situated on the former "Saint Louis" bastion, which was torn down in 1744/45.
The new "Villa Colombi" was designed in the English Gothic and Tudor styles. After the countess died, the mansion became the property of first J.A. Sporer, and then J.G. Thoma. The latter developed a portion of the land and put in the Colombi and Rosa streets (the latter named for Thoma's wife). The streets were separated from the mansion and park by massive stone walls.
The Colombi Mansion became the permanent property of Freiburg in 1899. Since then, it has served as the home of various institutions. From 1947-1952, Land President Leo Wohleb ran the Office of the State of Baden from the mansion.
There were many different plans for how to use the building (for example as a casino, or even to tear it down and build a new city theatre). But eventually in 1983, the Colombi Mansion became the site for the Museum für Ur-und-Frühgeschichte (Museum for Pre- and Early history).
The small vineyard which looks out on the Eisenbahnstraße is the remainder of the "Glacis-Reben" (type of grapevine) planted in 1745 on the ruins of the Baroque fortifications.
Hope you like it
Jean-Loup

nwoehnl ha contrassegnato questa nota come utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 2454
Points: 10
Discussions
Additional Photos by JeanLoup Castaigne (jloup) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 56 W: 15 N: 72] (622)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH