Foto

Photographer's Note

Burg Thurant in Alken was build (between 1198 and 1206) by "Pfalzgrafen Heinrich",a brother king of Otto IV, after his return from the crusades. This to the memory of the futile siege of the Syrian fortress "Thuron". The castle was besieged by the archbishops of Trier and Cologne between 1246 and 1248. After capitulation the castle was divided by a partition wall and two donjons were built. The castle did now belong partly to Trier and partly to Cologne.
During the 19th. century the castle became ruined. It was bought in 1911 by Dr. Rudolf Allmers and up till now it has stayed private property.

serenadanesi, MarekP, faraujo ha contrassegnato questa nota come utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 2251
Points: 4
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Luc Hermans (luc1102) Silver Note Writer [C: 3 W: 0 N: 59] (205)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH