Foto

Photographer's Note

Xenofontos H. Monastery is founded in the end of 10th century.
It has two "katholikons" (main churches), both after St. George, the Great Martyr: the old one, decorated by the Cretan painter Antonios in 1544, is used in the winter time and the new one (shown in this photo), founded in 1817 by Philotheos completed in 1837 and decorated in 1990s, is used in the summer time. It houses also the famous icon of Mother of God, the "Hodegetria".
Photo rocessed in Photoshop.

cornejo ha contrassegnato questa nota come utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 1826
Points: 2
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Theologos Tats (thiv56) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 148 W: 50 N: 261] (1628)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH