Foto

Photographer's Note


Theresia Bastion named after the Austrian Empress Maria Theresa, is the largest preserved piece of defensive wall of the Austrian-Hungarian fortress of Timișoara. It covers about 1.7 hectares of the city center. It was built between 1732–1734. Today it is used as a passage, but it also houses commercial spaces, restaurants, bars.

After the conquest of Timișoara by the Habsburgs in 1716, it was realized that the old fortifications could not cope with new fighting techniques, therefore it was decided to rebuild the whole city in Pagan style (a fortress-stronghold of a stellar shape). It had an area larger than the Ottoman medieval fortress. The city was surrounded by three stellar belts that could be filled with water. Access was via three gates: of Vienna, Petrovaradin and Transylvania (completely demolished in 1891). The nine bastions of the fortress were named after kings and queens or generals. In the second half of the 19th century, the majority of the city walls was demolished to make room for the rapidly expanding city.

Fis2, pierrefonds, COSTANTINO, ikeharel, papagolf21, jemaflor, holmertz, holmertz, jhm, ChrisJ, mcmtanyel ha contrassegnato questa nota come utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 445
Points: 38
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Piotr Fagasiewicz (PiotrF) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 5636 W: 2 N: 11138] (52342)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH