Foto

Photographer's Note

St Johnís Point Lighthouse, Co Down

In 1908 the light was improved by the installation of the present bi-form lens. The gas jet burners were replaced with incandescent paraffin burners. In September 1954 the colour of the tower was changed from white with black bands to black with two yellow bands.

On the 18th February 1981, St. John's Point light and fog signal were converted to electric operation, the fog signal changing from a siren to a horn.

avene, rushfan2112, chpp, asajernigan, lilimih33, gneufeld, Dyerco ha contrassegnato questa nota come utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 1879
Points: 24
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Stephen Emerson (Signal-Womb) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 429 W: 2 N: 2153] (13048)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH