Foto

Photographer's Note

As one strolls through Washington Crossing one is temporarily taken back in time to the 1700’s – 1800’s. The earliest settlement in the area was called Baker’s Ferry. By the time the American Revolution was going on, it was called McConkey’s Ferry. In 1829, a post office was established there and the town was renamed once again to Taylorsville, after John Taylor, the post master.

Taylorsville was a thriving little town. The wealth of its citizens centered around the ferry crossing that was there. Even in the 1800’s, who wouldn’t want to do some shopping while enroute to visiting friends and/or family?

In the early 20th Century, Taylorsville was renamed “Washington Crossing” in honor of the crossing made by George Washington and his men in December 1776.

Sadly, many of the old homes have fallen to the wrecking ball over the years, but the former main street is a lovely walkway with several houses that have remained standing and are open to tours. It is now part of a state park.

The house in the photo is an odd one: it lies on the old main street but is furthest south from all the rest of the buildings. It appears to be a private home, yet is part of the park. For now, it’ll just have to remain a mystery. . .a mystery with a lovely reflection in the window, quaint 20th century lamp post, and a worn out door.
--
Tech:
Crop, Levels Adjustment, and USM

carper, Tone, Hanssie, jackwp, papagolf21 ha contrassegnato questa nota come utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 1563
Points: 12
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Linda Richters (richtersl) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 992 W: 583 N: 849] (3546)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH