Photographer's Note

The Matterhorn is a mountain in the Pennine Alps on the border between Switzerland and Italy. Its summit is 4,478 metres high, making it one of the highest peaks in the Alps. The four steep faces, rising above the surrounding glaciers, indicate the four compass points. The mountain overlooks the town of Zermatt in the canton of Valais to north-east and Breuil-Cervinia in the Aosta Valley to the south. The Theodul Pass, located at the eastern base of the peak, is the lowest passage between its north and south side.

The Matterhorn was the last great Alpine peak to be conquered and its first ascent marked the end of the Golden age of alpinism. It was made in 1865 by an expedition led by Edward Whymper and ended tragically when most of its members fell to their deaths on the descent. The north face was not climbed until 1931, and is amongst the three Great north faces of the Alps. The Matterhorn is one of the deadliest peaks in the Alps: from 1865 – when it was first climbed – to 1995, 500 alpinists died on it.

The Matterhorn became an iconic emblem of the Swiss Alps and the Alps in general. Since the end of the nineteenth century, when railways were built, it attracted more and more visitors and climbers. Each summer a large number of skilled mountaineers try to climb the Matterhorn via the north-east Hörnli ridge, the most frequented route to the summit.


Nobody ha contrassegnato questa nota come utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 1537
Points: 4
  • None
Additional Photos by Svetoslav Apostolov (svetoapostolov) (80)
View More Pictures