Foto

Photographer's Note

The Tower of Marques:

In the 13th century, the fief of Chenonceau belonged to the Marques family. The original château was torched in 1412 to punish owner Jean Marques for an act of sedition. He rebuilt a château and fortified mill on the site in the 1430s. Jean Marques's indebted heir Pierre Marques found it necessary to sell.

jhm ha contrassegnato questa nota come utile

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Xavier Pastureau (xpas) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 19 W: 0 N: 40] (328)
  • Genre: Luoghi
  • Medium: Colore
  • Date Taken: 2014-12-27
  • Categories: Castelli
  • Esposizione: f/2.8, 1/60 secondi
  • More Photo Info: view
  • Versione Foto: Versione Originale
  • Date Submitted: 2015-02-20 2:27
Viewed: 1062
Points: 2
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Xavier Pastureau (xpas) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 19 W: 0 N: 40] (328)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH